Blogging Backlog

With Scott starting residency this week, I had every intention of catching up on the blog and regularly posting tantalizing recipes and great photos going forward.

However, there have been some developments:

– It appears I’m going to keep working until baby #2 arrives. We had thought with Scott making money I would retire about now but instead, during Mackenzie’s naps and night times for the next three months you’ll find me on the couch with the laptop.

I’m excited about it because it will give me the chance to contribute to some major projects at SmugMug, but it’s caused me to re-shelve some “me stuff” that has already been gathering dust on my todo list for several years. Those things saw the light of day for a brief moment, but alas they will have to wait a while longer. 🙂

– I realized I have let myself get spectacularly out of shape this pregnancy. I have eaten pretty well, but failed to exercise almost entirely. So last week I set a goal to walk 200 miles before I have this baby. I’m 21 down as of today! I’m also 28 weeks pregnant tomorrow so I can’t slack if I’m going to meet this goal.

– This whole farmer’s market box (CSA) thing is quite involved. This past week I had to determine ways to eat turnips (and their greens), beets, swiss chard, lettuce, a bag of braising greens, snow peas, shelling peas, and candy onions (along with cauliflower and some tomato seconds we bought at the market and our staples we get at the grocery store like spinach and peppers). With Scott busy at work, the task of incorporating all this veg falls to me. I’ve spent more time digging through library cookbooks and meal planning lately than I have in the past. It’s definitely stretching us to get all these extra foods in our diet but I love the results.

So blogging will come… but it’ll be slow. My days are spent soaking up one-on-one time with Mackenzie, walking, working, and cooking. Oh and sleeping when I can because this whole growing-a-baby thing has worn me right out!

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogging Backlog

  1. denise says:

    we joined a produce club too. It is kind of fun to get all the surprise foods and then try to figure out how to use them. Our fall back is to roast all (non-lettuce) veggies if we run out of other ideas or stir-fry them into tacos or onto a salad. I need to spend more time finding new recipes like you!

    Like

  2. Maya says:

    i’ve got a couple of beet salad recipes if you’d like them! let me know!

    Like

Leave a Reply

