The hands-down funniest Mom moment of my career thus far

I laughed about this for days, called my mom immediately so someone could share in the hilarity, yet somehow forgot to blog about it.

It’s time to remedy that oversight and immortalize this story for posterity.

About a month ago, I was cleaning the bathtub and I asked Mackenzie for a favor. Because I have worked during naps and nighttimes since she was born, she’s accustomed to helping out (or at least tagging along) as I clean, cook, garden, and generally keep the household running. Especially lately with the impending birth of baby #2, I’ve tried to encourage her to actively help me with pint-sized tasks so she can prepare for her new role of Big Sister.

On this particular occasion, I asked her to please get the green plastic bucket on her dresser so I could use it to rinse out the tub.

She said, “Ok, Mama” and then scampered off to her bedroom for several minutes. I heard some odd scraping sounds and there were a few long pauses in activity. Then she walked slowly back to report, “Um, Mama? It’s sleeping.”

Thinking she was just being obstinate or silly (or some combination of the two), I sighed. “What do you mean it’s sleeping, Honey? Just please go and get Mama the bucket. She really needs it to clean the tub and she needs you to be a big helper.”

Mackenzie pondered this for a minute or two (as my impatience built) and then finally agreed to do what I asked.

Again, she retreated to her room and I heard more scraping and shifting sounds. A few minutes ticked by and, somewhat exasperated, I had just resolved to get up and fetch the bucket myself when I heard something at the entryway to the bathroom.

I looked up and my jaw hit the floor. There was Mackenzie, desperately trying to balance a sizeable potted plant in her arms and deliver it to me by the tub.

“Oh Sweetheart!” I exclaimed, as I hurried to get up and rescue her from its weight.

When she saw the look on my face, her eyes widened and the plant took an ominous lurch to the left, then back to the right and then tipped upside down on the floor with a crash.

It was a new plant (our first indoor plant of our marriage, actually) and thus recently potted and eager to spill its soil and roots everywhere. Poor Mackenzie took one look at the the freshly-washed bathroom floor now covered in dirt and started to sob.

My mom commended me for this next part, but I promise there was nothing calculated about it: I scooped Mackenzie right up and reassured her that she did a good job and that we could clean up the mess and there was no harm done. Then I took her hand and walked her back to the dresser to point out the tub I had asked for. Knowing her eagerness to please, I urged her to give it another try and bring the bucket in the bathroom for me. That, and seeing how nicely the bathroom floor cleaned up calmed her down.

I reviewed the chain of events and proceeded to laugh until I cried. Mackenzie’s hesitancy to obey, the odd sounds coming from the bedroom, the extended timeline for fetching a simple plastic tub, and her initial attempt to explain the situation with “it’s sleeping” just made the whole thing all the funnier. Here I was, frustrated at her for taking so long as she did her darnedest to slide that big heavy plant into her arms and stumble all the way into the next room with it to make me happy.

I have never loved her more than when I saw her shuffle in the bathroom gripping the pot for dear life.

P.S. Scott says this isn’t actually the funniest Mom moment I’ve had, and it could be some of the hilarity is lost in the telling. I’m sorry if that’s the case, but I wanted to remember it how I experienced it and nothing has made me laugh as long and as hard in the past 2 1/2 years. So there. šŸ™‚

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Funny kids, I am a mother. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The hands-down funniest Mom moment of my career thus far

  1. Laura says:

    Mackenzie is such a sweet girl and DETERMINED too! Enjoyed hearing about her efforts in helping šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

