Scott graduates from medical school!

I may or may not have mentioned this, but my husband is a doctor. He’s sitting here in scrubs about to leave for another 14 hour shift at the hospital, where people refer to him as Dr. Bean.

I still can’t believe it.

His mom came out for graduation at the beginning of June, and it was the first time she’s been to visit since Mackenzie’s birth. We had a great time!

The actual ceremony was a bit long for a two year old, and Mackenzie was impatient to find Scott in the crowd afterward. She was thrilled with his “congraduation” outfit.

In a rare moment of foresight, I insisted on taking some pictures in better lighting before we returned the robe:


(25 weeks pregnant)

I think it’s all still sinking in…

  • This has been Scott’s dream for over two decades.
  • I knew when I met him that he was bound for medical school and it would be a long road if I chose to take it with him.
  • It was easier in some ways and harder in some ways than I had imagined.
  • Most of the “easy” came from having great friends in this area.
  • Most of the hard came from working full-time and having a baby during his 2nd year.
  • I wouldn’t change any of it. In particular, I’m really glad we didn’t wait to have Mackenzie until he finished. She kept me company and kept me sane when Scott was tied up with school.
  • 4th year was by far the least demanding on his time, but the most demanding on our patience and faith.
  • We couldn’t be happier about where he is for residency and the field he’s chosen.
  • I am so stinkin’ proud of him.
About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Living with a doctor. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Scott graduates from medical school!

  1. manwaringfam says:

    Congratulations to Scott!! Now get ready for even harder… The good news is somehow you adjust!

    Like

  2. RobinM says:

    Congratulations!

    Like

  3. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    congrats!

    Like

  4. Anita says:

    I love the pregnancy pic in this post! You look incredible. Congratulations to both of you.
    Love you and miss you like crazy,
    Anita

    Like

  5. wendeerosella says:

    Hooray for Dr. Bean!!! Congratulations to you both, for sticking through it and getting to the end. But 14 hour shifts!? Me no likee. You’re a brave man, Scott. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

