Homemade Vegetable Bouillon

I mentioned a few months ago that I tried making my own vegetable bouillon and it was a huge success. I can now say after using it dozens of times, that it’s a REALLY huge success. đŸ˜€

We used to use “Better than Bouillon” because it had real vegetables in it, we liked the flavor, and it was much less expensive than buying pre-made broth. Also, making our own vegetable broth seemed like too much effort to do regularly and freezing it would take up too much space in the freezer. But I definitely had some qualms about the rest of the ingredient list and it was expensive ($3.50/ea on a really good sale).

I don’t even know how I stumbled across the awesome recipe I used, because making my own veggie bouillon (as opposed to broth) had never actually crossed my mind.

Scott was skeptical, but after reading the post, I felt it was solidly in the “you never know until you try it!” camp so I acquired the necessary ingredients, borrowed my neighbor’s kitchen scale (for the nth time) and went to work.

I made the recipe just exactly as it’s written, except I did use all celery rather than a combination of celery and celery root. Summer is a great time to make it because you can find leeks and fennel at the farmer’s market. The prep work wasn’t too bad, and I zipped it all up in my food processor and spooned it into a quart size ziploc freezer bag.

I conducted a thorough taste test in which Scott, me and his mom all tried broth made from it it alongside some Better than Bouillon broth. It was a big winner. The broth looks different… clear and sort of green with some colorful specks swimming at the top, whereas the BtB broth was brownish and murky. The flavor was fresh and lively and the salt level matched up really well with the BtB broth (though you could of course modify it) so we won’t have to monkey with any of our recipes. The biggest difference was that while the BtB broth is passable in recipes, I would never dream of just drinking it on its own. My broth? Darn tasty just on its own.

It has enough salt in it that it doesn’t freeze solid, making it easily measured out. The 3 1/2 cups it makes should yield 168 cups of vegetable broth, in theory. That’s the equivalent of nearly 4.5 jars of Better than Bouillon and the veggies and salt sure cost me less than the $15 I’d pay for jarred stuff! With the way we go through vegetable broth, I will probably need to make this twice a year and it’ll take a half hour each time.

That means it is A) Convenient. B) Economical. C) Made at home. D) Has real ingredients.

In short, I’m in love.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Vegetable Bouillon

  1. Pingback: The Best Gadgets for Healthy Cooking | Adventures in Beanland

Leave a Reply

