To My Friend Driving West on Henderson Road Yesterday

You’re not really my friend.

I know that’s not very charitable, especially because we’ve never actually spoken.

But I do think it’s fair considering you nearly killed, or at the very least seriously harmed, me and my daughters.

The thing that really irks me is that you don’t know I exist. In fact, you’ve never even laid eyes on me.

I would have thought a 5’10” very pregnant lady pushing a bright orange double-jogging stroller would be fairly visible in broad daylight.

I will be forever glad of the many hours I’ve spent walking (and jogging) in big cities around distracted drivers, because I looked even though you didn’t.

Instead, you were staring off to the left while making a right-hand turn at a green light. The speed limit was 50 and you did slow slightly for the turn, but you then proceeded to blow right through the crosswalk while chatting away on your cell-phone and turning the wheel with your free hand.

I wanted to do what my dad does, and reach out to smack your car as you whizzed past, so you’d at least realize what a close call you had, but a belly and a stroller were between me and your car.

And if I think about it, that makes it even worse because you would have hit them first.

I’m sure you didn’t mean any harm by being oblivious, but would you please cut it out? It took me three more blocks of walking for my heart rate to return to normal.

Sincerely,
Anne

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in I am a mother, Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to To My Friend Driving West on Henderson Road Yesterday

  1. cabbey says:

    I’m with baldy on that one. :/ Though a nice juicy loogie on their window (or better through the window) seems to catch attention well as well. (did that in university once.)

    Glad you three are all OK.

    Like

  2. littleraskills says:

    Yikes. I can’t stand distracted drivers. ESP ones that are using their cell phones!!! I am glad you three are ok!

    Like

  3. Jessica says:

    Ugh. Hate moments like that. SO close.

    Like

  4. wendeerosella says:

    My blood is reading just reading this! Grr, it makes me so mad. To think about what a close call you had, and they didn’t even notice! Argh. So infuriating. So happy that you all survived.

    Like

  5. Angie says:

    Oh my! Cell phones should be strapped in the back seat while the car is moving. There have been several really bad accidents around here involving kids with parents talking on cell phones. I am so glad you saw him. And it’s good you weren’t on a cell phone or you could have been distracted. I’ve seen lots of pedestrians with cell phones have close calls. On that note, everyone should pay a little more attention. I almost backed over a child who was in the house behind locked doors MOMENTS before I backed out. Little ones move faster than we think and I had a scary reminder to be more aware of everything around me, even if I KNOW no one or no thing is there. Can’t wait to hear baby news!

    Like

Leave a Reply

