News

I’m still a 3 and still 70% effaced. And I’m still measuring small (34 weeks).

So in those respects, not much has changed.

However, last week my doctor briefly mentioned that I should call if I had contractions 5 minutes apart that last an hour.

This week?

Get thee to a hospital.

She said if I start to feel very uncomfortable, I should just head to the hospital. I asked if I should call first and she responded that I should just call on the way. Let’s remember the hospital is a whopping 2 miles from my house.

For whatever reason, she thinks my cervix is going to “melt away” when the time comes. Yikes.

The plan was to call my dad so he can hop on a plane and capture the first few moments of this baby’s life on camera, but my doctor seems to think he doesn’t have a hope of making it here in time.

We’ll see. My mom did have my older brother in less than an hour from her first real contraction, but surely it will take me longer than that? All this talk about “any day” and “it’ll happen fast when it happens” has me a wee bit nervous.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to News

  1. Andrea says:

    How exciting! Any moment!!! Or, maybe you’ll amaze yourself and go a week overdue (I hope not, for your sake). Good luck! I can’t wait to hear about the arrival of baby Bean.

    Like

  2. Jan says:

    good luck- love your photos!

    Like

  3. Maya says:

    Oh I bet he’ll have time! šŸ™‚ It’s so hard to predict how long a labor is going to be, from everything I’ve read. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

    Like

  4. alecia says:

    hi stopping by from hip homeschool hop… thanks for commenting on my blog, that one was my favorite post… haha.. Good Luck to you. love your blog šŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Rachel says:

    Animal- good luck in your second bout of childbirth, you’ll be amazing as always. Make to ensure you spoil Mackenzie in her last few days of being an only child!

    Like

  6. annapackard says:

    Hope that little girl takes her time so your dad can catch great photos! But at the same time, wishing you an easy delivery! Excited to see pics of the newest addition to your family!

    Like

Leave a Reply

