Live from the hospital

6:30 – I walk to the hospital pushing Mackenzie in the stroller, while my dad tells passerbys I’m about to have a baby.

Scott drives the car to the hospital and walks back to accompany us.

My last-ditch effort to kick start labor on my own fails.

8:15 – Scott leaves to put Mackenzie to bed.

She was so sweet and kissed my belly and gave me lots of hugs before leaving. We’ve never spent more than a few hours apart so this is a big deal to her. I’m glad she came and saw my digs here, because I think it helped.

8:30 – pitocin. They are starting me at a 2 and the plan is to ramp up every 20-30 minutes until my contractions are 2-3 minutes apart.

8:50 – ouch. Scott is on his way back. Doctor is due at 9:30 or 10:00 to break my water.

Pondering starting a movie to distract me.

9:00 – September 12th baby unlikely.

I say 3am. Scott says 3:30am. My dad evidently has learned how to score points and predicts 2:45am.

Stay tuned.

Any guesses on weight or birth time? M was 7lb 14.7oz until she peed on the scale and they docked her a few ozs. 🙂 She cooked exactly a week longer than this baby.

UPDATES

9:45 – My wonderful doctor offered to break my water to speed things along, but my contractions were progressing on their own (well, with pitocin) so I asked to hold off. Dilated to a 4, 80% effaced.

She’s coming back at midnight to check in on me.

10:45 – I just got bumped to an 8 on pitocin and changed nurses. Her parting words? I hope things go fast for you.

Contractions manageable. My dad is doing pushups, texting updates to the left coast and editing photos on his laptop. Scott is reading a book. I’m missing Mackenzie and enjoying each contraction (progress! I’m going to see my baby!)

12:15 – nothing new to report. Same pitocin dosage, nice contractions, waiting for doctor to come check my progress. I’ll go on record predicting I’m a 4 still, maybe a 5. The contractions are so manageable I declined the birthing ball. I need to save something for later, right? 🙂

12:45 – I was a 5 so I opted to have my water broken to speed things up.

It worked.

My contractions became shorter but much more painful. They lasted 30-60 seconds rather than ~90 but I had to stand or be on a birthing ball to cope better.

I kicked my dad to the curb and Scott kept reading for another hour or so.

1:45 – I called Scott into action. I was getting nauseous and felt like there was no break between contractions. I also became super shaky and thought I might be in transition.

2:25 – the nurse checked me and I had decided 7 or below I’d opt for an epidural, 8 and above I’d go for baby.

I was a 7 and was positively begging for a needle in my spine.

3:00 – the official time of the epidural, though it hadn’t kicked in yet.

3:17 – Caitlyn Bean arrived healthy and well.

7:47 – I already feel sooo much better than after M’s birth but I haven’t slept yet. Caitlyn nursed for 45+ minutes around 4 and I cried the whole time. She’ll be back for more shortly and I can’t wait to see her.

Grandpa is home asleep, Scott is here asleep, and all other updates will come after I get my girl to hold again (and maybe some sleep!)

Oh, she is 7lb 3oz and has some hair!

Thanks for all the prayers and encouragement and a special shout out to an amazing husband who saved me when the pain became too much. He’s a fan of epidurals but truly kept his word about supporting me no matter what.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Birth Stories, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Live from the hospital

  1. Andrea says:

    Good luck tonight!!! Can’t wait to hear. 6 lbs 5 oz is my guess . . . at 5:42 am. (sorry, that’s way later than you want it, I’m sure)

    You go, Anne!!!!

    Like

  2. Angie says:

    Okay, I am going to say 2:30 a.m. give or take 2 and a half minutes. Let’s go with 7 even on the weight. I am so excited for you! If you have an epidural sleep. I usually went 6 hours even with inductions, getting the epidural about an hour before arrival. ( I also usually went from a 5 to baby out within an hour too….thank you epidural for taking care of fast moving labor!) Can’t wait to hear. I’ll be sleeping while you are working…but I am checking first thing in the morning!

    Like

  3. Mom says:

    Thinking about you and wishing you the best. The twins are very excited. We talked a bit about how babies get here. Not really birds and bees yet…
    I am very tired but don’t want to go bed because I am so excited. And, because I am your mother, also worried and concerned. I know labor is difficult but worth it. Just want you to know that I love you very much. MOM

    Like

  4. Meg Larsen says:

    Hoping everything goes well, can’t wait to hear the whole story and see fabulous pictures.

    You can do it!

    Like

  5. Laura says:

    Whoo hoo! Congratulations!!! Well done Anne & Scott! Caitlyn is a beautiful name and I’m sure she is a beautiful girl. Can’t wait to see pictures!

    Enjoy your sweet baby!!

    Like

  6. Jessica says:

    Had to check in this morning! It makes me so happy to think of another little Bean girl here. Good work Anne. Cant wait for pics.

    Like

  7. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    oh man, sounded like you got the epidural just in time! I’m glad it’s over and you have your baby! cute cute name! I hope nursing goes well, seems to take a while to get used to it again. I can’t wai to see Caitlyn! I’ll have to come by in a few wks when you feel rested and up for a visit!

    Like

  8. Aunt Tammy says:

    YEAH!!! So glad she’s here!!! Can’t wait to see pictures of her!! Very impressed with what you already logged about the whole thing Anne. Way to go!!! Hugs all around!!!

    Like

  9. Lonica says:

    How very exciting! I’m glad it all worked out. Sorry I wasn’t better help with Mackenzie. Let me know if there is anything else I can do…

    Like

  10. Aunt Melanie says:

    Hey Anne,
    You are amazing!!!! I was laughing when Scott said the epidural didn’t take effect until AFTER Caitlyn was born. What a pill she came so early you couldn’t benefit from the relief of pain! 🙂 I’m glad it’s over and all is well.

    Like

  11. Debbie Rose says:

    We saw your Dad’s pics of little Caitlyn and she’s as darling as we knew she would be! Congratulations, Anne!! Having suffered through the lingering effects of nerve damage from attempted epidurals/interthecals I’m happy you made it without drugs! I stand in awe, actually, that you made it while pitocin coursed through your veins! (I don’t think there’s anything quite as torturous as pitocin!) We’re looking forward to seeing you guys again and meeting our new little niece!

    Like

Leave a Reply

