Ow *Updated*

I have several great recipes to share (with photos for once!) but they will have to wait.

Along with my laundry.

And my plan to take Mackenzie to the zoo.

And my plan to do something today other than curl up in the fetal position and moan.

I woke up with a plugged duct this morning and the pain is insane. I’m familiar with it, having averaged one plugged duct every month I breastfed Mackenzie, but it still caught me off guard with how intensely it hurts. Walking, bending down, reaching, and (especially) feeding my baby all make me want to cry.

For the first time in my experience, I don’t have a lump I can massage out, it’s just lots and lots of pain. Apparently that doesn’t rule out a plugged duct and there’s really nothing else it can be. So I’m using all my old standbys to try to clear this thing and I’m hopeful it’ll be short-lived. In the meantime, though… ouch. And moan.

UPDATED TO ADD:

Mastitis. 😦

No plugged duct to blame, and the antibiotics kicked in quickly so I felt miles better today. Thanks for the advice and empathy. Breastfeeding is worth it but there are definitely some awful moments along the way. I’m glad to have this one behind me!

Not knowing why or how I got mastitis has me worried about recurrence, though. I think Caitlyn did have some latching issues due to my fast let-down so I’m focusing on improving that. Rest and plenty of fluids are also on the agenda.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Tough Days. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ow *Updated*

  1. lisa h. says:

    very sorry. does heat help? hope it gets better.

    Like

  2. Laura says:

    Hang in there!

    Like

    • Laura says:

      FYI–The lactation consultants at Riverside are top notch! AND they have a helpline…(614) 566-5353, then hit 2 to leave a message for a LC. Anytime I’ve called with a breast infection, they have returned the call quickly, and given me excellent advice for relief!! I hope you feel better very soon.

      Like

  3. Liz says:

    I was on the verge of getting mastitis with Audrey when she was a month old. The pain was horrific. Have you tried a cabbage compress?

    Like

  4. Jeannette says:

    I would call your doctor and get a prescription for an antibiotic! Heat & pumping always helped a little for me. Those are the worst!

    Like

  5. Maya says:

    You got mastitis a few times with Mackenzie too, right? If you’re worried about recurrence, Earth Mama Angel Baby (organic store) has some stuff to help with mastitis that a few of my friends swear by. I haven’t tried it myself but I think I’m going to get some before Smudge comes. Good luck!

    Like

  6. Lonica says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling better now, Anne. That stinks and must be SO painful!

    Like

  7. annapackard says:

    I got thrust with Hailee and that was HORRIBLE. Felt like shards of glass coming through my ducts instead of milk! I think Mastitis would be worse! Glad you got antibiotics! Isn’t it amazing how complicated breast feeding can be? Also, reading your posts being a mom with two, you are amazing! I think that is what I’m worried about the most next time around. I loved that I could feed Hailee at six and go back to sleep with her till her next feeding at 10 and THEN get up for my day around 11. Will miss that luxury. I love how you are prioritizing though! Good job leaving laundry and other non-essentials out of your day right now! Hang in there!

    Like

  8. Laura says:

    So glad to hear you are feeling better! Livi had some latching troubles, too. Each day they grow older they get better and better at it. Babies learn so quickly, and then one day its like they don’t need your help at all–just put them in close proximity πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

