Preschool Pancakes

A while back, my mom sent me a recipe for the EASIEST healthy pancakes imaginable. They are egg-free, can easily be made gluten-free, they’re whole grain, with no added sugar or oil and it takes less than 5 minutes to whip up the batter.

Now before you get too excited, let me tell you that they aren’t Scott’s favorite. They have a texture more like baked oatmeal than like a traditional flapjack, and that bugs him. But for Mackenzie and I? They’re great.

My absolute favorite part about them is that because they are so fast to whip up, we get to have fun cooking the pancakes into fun shapes. Think letters, numbers, funny faces, animals, etc.

Here’s how we make them:

1 banana, into the Vitamix (any blender should work)

2 cups rolled oats, into the Vitamix

2 cups water, into the Vitamix

At this point you could add 1/4 tsp salt and 1 tsp vanilla. And/or you could add some cinnamon. Or a handful of frozen berries (yum!). But as often as not, we just go with a banana, oats, and water.

Blend it up for a minute or so.

Now heat up your griddle and let the batter sit for a couple of minutes, and it will thicken up.

Check to make sure your 2 month old is having a good time.

(Don’t worry, that’s her good time face.)

Grab squirt bottle (got mine for less than $2 from a kitchen store) and fill it up.

Now go crazy making fun pancakes. We almost always spell out our names in letters and play “guess the letter”.

I gamely try to make anything Mackenzie comes up with “An ostrich, Mama! Make an ostrich!” (She means a peacock, but at the mercy of my meager squirting skills, the result could have been anything really.)

I did discover that if I make a design first:

And then quickly fill it out to be a circle:

When you flip it, the design shows up nicely:

So we get creative and make houses with windows and doors, cool spirals that look plain on one side and fancy on the other, etc.

We usually top them with frozen berries (I heat them up in the microwave and smash them), homemade applesauce, or on this day, I chopped up an apple and sprinkled it with cinnamon and microwaved it:

By the time we run out of batter, Mackenzie is thrilled and my 2 month old has clearly enjoyed herself as well:

Everybody wins!

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Healthy Kids, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Preschool Pancakes

  1. Amy says:

    I have been looking at your site for a few hours getting some great ideas! We started our journey to eating better about 2 months ago. It takes a lot of time and effort trying to revamp not only our thinking habits but our eating habits too.

    I keep trying to get my picky eater, my 7 yr old daughter, to eat oatmeal through different recipes. Everything I tried so far has been a “NO WAY” with her. I think it is the consistency that gets to her. Anyway, I must try grinding the oats up and making pancakes! I won’t even tell her what is in it and see if she likes it this way.

    Like

  2. Maya says:

    I love this! There are only 1 or 2 companies that make gluten free oats (Bob’s Red Mill being one or maybe the only) so anyone trying to make this gluten free should know oats are not inherently gluten free. I can’t wait until Miles is old enough to appreciate fun shaped pancakes. I am glad you showed us how you do it; I’ve always been curious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

