Journaling

Apparently I took a break from blogging. 🙂

I’m back and brimming with things to write about because I’ve been busy making some ch-ch-changes around here.

But first… I need some help! I’d love to hear what works for you when it comes to journaling.

Here’s what I already do:
– Blog, sporadically.
– Make a photo book every few years, pulled mainly from the events I blog about.
– Write down my impressions at church and from scripture study and general conference on random bits of paper that end up in the recycling bin.

Here’s what I’d like to do:
– Write down the more personal or mundane things of my life as a wife and a mother. This would include the simple things my girls do on any given day that delight me, but wouldn’t end up on the blog.
– Keep the impressions I write down from scripture study, etc. in a place where I can review them.

Ideas that appeal to me:

– A 10 year journal. It includes a page for each day of the year and involves writing a brief note each day and repeating the process each year so that you can see at a glance what happened on that day last year, the year before that, etc. I think it could be fun to do this as a family at the dinner table.

– I read a book by a mom who takes a few hours every Mother’s day to write a love letter to each of her children. I LOVE this idea because it allows me to focus on each child as an individual and it’s a way to record “big picture” thoughts that may get lost in the day to day anecdotes and events-focused writing.

– I have heard of people using prompts each week that ensure there’s a hefty dose of reflection with the act of journaling (e.g. Milestones I observed in my children, Answers to prayers, etc.)

– I know someone who journals on his computer so he can easily search for a given child’s name and share an entry with that child when he wants to.

– I know someone who jots down spiritual impressions as they come to her, and then she distills them into a “To Do” document on her computer and a “Quotes” document on her computer so she can easily refer back to goals she’s set based on impressions and pull up quotes that inspired her.

But still I’m having trouble visualizing what is doable for me and ideal for the long-term. So… what works for you?

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Nothing but random. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Journaling

  1. Lonica says:

    I have to say, that my journaling falls strictly in the blogging category. I don’t do much outside of the blog. I am bound and determined (pun intended!) to create a published Blurb book with all our blog posts in it this year. I will say, when I’ve wanted to write more personal information down, I’ve done so as a blog post and then just left it “private” so everyone else can read it. That works for me!

    Like

  2. Nancy says:

    Spencer prints out our blog every year for Christmas (I just got the 3rd volume!). But for more personal journaling, I keep a small hardbound book/journal in my scripture bag/purse. It started as my “scripture journal”. But I write down impressions i have from my scripture study, church, day to day life, and so on. It allows me to record spiritual experiences, answers to prayer, etc that are too sacred to share on our blog. I started it 2.5 years ago, and I’ve loved it! Its help me to grow even by just writing down those things. I think because its how i can show Heavenly Father that i can be trusted with them by recording them to learn from for years to come… and for my children to learn from when they need to read them too. Its not a guided journal, just blank pages. But its convenient to pull out in the moment i need it, which i think is a big part of actually keeping a journal! I don’t write it in daily, but for me I don’t feel like i need to. So long as i record the meaningful stuff. Just don’t get overwhelmed or discouraged if you don’t/can’t write everyday (its the life of a mother, come on!). Good luck!

    Like

    • beanland says:

      Oooh exactly what I needed to hear. It doesn’t have to be rocket science, just something that I’ll use and will last! I think you’re absolutely right, that it shows Heavenly Father we can value the personal revelation we receive. Here’s to not putting it in the recycling bin anymore! (Ack)

      Like

  3. Kimberlie says:

    I have never been a consistent journaler – but I do have a spiral bound book by my bedside that I jot things in as I want (or cut things out of magazines and put in there for reference later!) What I really want to say is I am so glad you posted as I was starting to get worried! I am just a mom from PA who makes your bread recipe and follows your blog, but was getting concerned as we hadn’t heard from you! 🙂

    Like

  4. Camille Craw says:

    i have a good friend who writes significant things on the calendar (first words, funny things the kids have said) and has kept them in a bin since her kids were small! I thought that was a great idea. Right now, I’m aiming for doing a blog book too. That’s something I’d like to get done!

    Like

  5. Nancy Leavitt says:

    I blogstocked you from Camille, but I thought I would share a good idea I’ve heard/tried. Open an email account for each of your kids. If there is something speical you want them to know/remember, send them a quick email. It does work well for all kinds of info.

    Like

  6. Pingback: A 10 Year Journal – Highly recommended for parents of young children | Adventures in Beanland

Leave a Reply

