A few things to report

I have been cleaning up and reorganizing the blog to be more helpful to people stopping by, and I came across a fun old post with a list of epic things and a note next to each one Scott or I have done.

Well, here is the sum total of apparently notable things we have accomplished in the 4 1/2 years since I posted that list:

06. Held a tarantula

09. Visited Paris

47. Slept in a castle – Well, a chateaux, but close enough for me!

62. Ridden a gondola in Venice – The photo shows us kissing by a canal, and we definitely road in boats there… was one of the boats a gondola? I remember not.

76. Raised children -They aren’t raised yet, but we’ve already put some time in.

97. Had a snake as a pet – Not really, but at least Scott made an appearance with a snake. That’s progress!

121. Saved someone’s life – Sometimes it hits me again what it means to be married to a doctor. It’s not an easy job but having something like this on your list is… amazing.

Far and away the things that blows my mind the most is #76. To think that when I posted the list we didn’t have any children, that I wasn’t a mother, boggles my mind. It’s such a huge part of who I am now.

Now what I really need to do is make a list of things I want to accomplish/do/see in this life. The list referenced above is fun, but not a perfect fit for us. Parasailing? Lame. Surviving an awful accident? Please no. Let’s skip the accident part entirely, mkay? I’d go with “hold your own grandchild” and “live on a boat for a month” instead.

What would you put on your list?

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Nothing but random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A few things to report

  1. Liz says:

    My “bucket list” has been on my mind a lot lately. Hopefully not for any important reason… 🙂

    I’ve been scratching out lame items and adding cool ones (like “going on a foreign service project as a family for a year” or “celebrating 50 years of marriage”).

    I’ll have to re-read yours. Bucket lists are so fun! Carpe Diem!

    Like

    • beanland says:

      Oooh great ones, Liz.

      Just to clarify: The list I linked from above isn’t actually my bucket list. It was just a random “have you done these things?” list circling the web four years ago.

      My bucket list is still fuzzy but I definitely want to give it some thought and put something down on paper.

      Like

Leave a Reply

