Today is my birthday

It’s not even 10am and already, I:

  • Was showered with love by my husband before he left for work.
  • Slept in.
  • Showed my three year old how much I adored her within minutes of her waking up.
  • Had help with the laundry and dishes.
  • Ate one of my favorite breakfasts.
  • Plan to spend the rest of the day doing something I do better than anyone else on this planet.
  • Look forward to a lovely night with just me and Scott

Of course, there are always (at least) two ways to look at a situation. 🙂

Yes, I:

  • Was showered with love by my husband before he left for work.

    Usually he leaves before I wake up. But last night I was up for hours with a migraine. He willingly supplied cold washcloths, a pill, moral support, and a glass of water in the wee hours of the morning. If that’s not love I don’t know what it is!

  • Slept in

    I knew a workout was not a possibility with my migraine, so I asked Scott to turn off my alarm before he left for work. I slept in until my girls woke up.

  • Showed my three year old how much I adored her within minutes of her waking up.
    She had wet the bed big time and woke me up with sopping wet pajamas on. Still with a wicked headache, I got out of bed, gave her a hug, gingerly stripped clothes off her and sheets off her bed, ran a bath, and whispered that it was ok and I loved her to pieces.
  • Had help with the laundry and dishes.
    A dishwasher and washing machine totally count as help. We lived without a dishwasher for a few years so I’m grateful for ours every time I turn it on.

  • Ate one of my favorite breakfasts.
    I made Mackenzie and I banana and walnut steel cut oatmeal just the way I like it. Mmmm.
  • Plan to spend the rest of the day doing something I do better than anyone else on this planet.
    Mackenzie is sick and I’m her mama, so no one else would possibly do. It’s good to be needed.
  • Look forward to a lovely night with just me and Scott.
    With the way today is going, I will probably have to put the girls down for bed before Scott gets back from work. He’s on a rotation downtown and often has to stay late. Doh! But he is a fabulous husband and I know we’ll have a great time when he does arrive.

In all seriousness, days like today remind me how grateful I am to have the life I do. I wouldn’t trade being a wife and mother for anything.

Yes, it has meant turning every “vacation” into a trip. And rather than a “break” on my birthday, I get an adventure.

But every morning, birthday or not, I get these smiling faces:

(Of course I get these, too:)

And I wouldn’t have it any other way. 🙂

Here’s to another great 27 years!

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Holidays, I am a mother, Life as we know it and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today is my birthday

  1. Jessica says:

    27 huh? I didn’t know you were so young! Wise beyond your years. 🙂 Happy happy birthday Anne!

    Like

  2. Andrea says:

    Happy, happy birthday Anne. You’re an amazing mom! One of the true tests of charity is how you treat others when you’re not feeling well yourself. . . even on your birthday. Like I said, you’re amazing! Hope your headache is gone and that Mackenzie gets better soon. P.S. I’m glad you decided not to work out. Good plan!

    Like

  3. Liz says:

    Happy Birthday, Bobe!

    Like

  4. Laura says:

    Happy birthday! Such a sweet post…you give the love you yourself receive. Miss you guys!

    Like

  5. Lonica says:

    Great post. Thanks for sharing the sentiment, as I have certainly felt that way too. Happy belated birthday. :0)

    Like

  6. Pingback: A Race to the Doctor’s and a Triumph of Good Nutrition « Adventures in Beanland

Leave a Reply

