A Race to the Doctor’s and a Triumph of Good Nutrition

Remember four weeks ago when I had a migraine on my birthday and Mackenzie was sick? Well she’s still sick.

Nobody in our house was sick all winter long, not even a drippy nose that I can recall. But then in April Scott started working at Children’s Hospital and brought home an awful bug and spread it around generously.

– I was sick for 2 weeks and was nearly better, but Easter morning I got hit hard again with a cough and sore throat that took another week to get over.
– Scott’s turned into walking pneumonia and he finally succumbed to antibiotics a few days ago, and had a rapid recovery.
– Mackenzie has maintained her energy level, sleeping and eating habits just fine… but has been booger-topia. (I am not a doctor, I just call it like I see it. And booger-topia was clearly the diagnosis.) She developed a cough a week ago that has just held on and it sounds terrible. So I scheduled an appointment with her pediatrician for this morning.

The Race

It was at 9:15 am and we were going to walk, being without a car. We set off at a brisk pace at 8:37, seven minutes after I “planned on” leaving but a cool three minutes before I actually “had to” leave. I have learned the value of a time cushion.

In times past, my route to the office has been a long roundabout way, which involves walking on a narrow shoulder of busy roads while cars blow past. This morning, though, I had a much better plan. Scott assured me there was a shortcut 10 minutes from our house that would allow us to cross the railroad tracks and get on a road with sidewalks.

Just one problem I discovered: barbed wire. Normally I’m not one to be unduly deterred by fences, but pushing a double strolled loaded with little girls made me think twice. We doubled-back and were now very, very late.

So I did what anybody would do in this situation: I made good use of the jog stroller. We managed to do the gigantor loop without becoming a police report and I even arrived early to the appointment. Never mind that I was dripping in sweat in my jeans and breathless.

I did get a raised eyebrow from the receptionist but I’m told life without raising a few eyebrows is boring.

Score One Point for kale

The Doctor took a look at Mackenzie’s throat with his little light and said “Booger-topia!”

Ok, his exact words may have been more along the lines of “it’s a river back there. No wonder she’s coughing like that!”

He opted to give her an antibiotic since it’s been going on so long. As he scribbled on his chart, he asked if she was allergic to any medication.

“Not that I know of, but then again, she’s never had any.”

He froze. “She’s never had an antibiotic?”

“Nope. The only time we’ve come in besides well checks is when she broke her foot.”

He shook his head in disbelief and finished writing the prescription. “Well, good for her!”

I didn’t realize a three and a half year old who has never had antibiotics was odd, but I’m glad I have one. I attribute it to two things:

1) I think our bodies are pretty darn good at fighting things off on their own, so I let minor things like colds run their course.

2) Excellent nutrition. I have a hunch the huge uptick in antibiotic prescriptions and childhood issues like ear infections and allergies has much to do with what we’re feeding our children. I also believe my favorite book on childhood nutrition that the tendency to give antibiotics at the first sign of ear infection (for example) wipes out all bacteria, good and bad, thus allowing bad bacteria to resettle.

I remember her first bite of sweet potato 3 years ago:

She’s come a long way and loves almost everything I put on the table now.

I’m giving Mackenzie the medicine and I do hope it’ll stop the booger flow (it’s all down her throat, not down her face, in case you had a nasty visual there). But unless you heard her cough, you wouldn’t even know she was sick! We went to the zoo yesterday and she ran around for a solid hour and a half, excited to get re-acquainted with sunshine.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating, Life as we know it, Why we do it. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Race to the Doctor’s and a Triumph of Good Nutrition

  1. Yikes, poor Mackenzie. So good to hear that she’s better. We have some nasties going around here and Ben has pneumonia again…

    Like

  2. Lonica says:

    I’m glad everyone in the Bean family is finally feeling better. It’s a struggle to get good nutrition around here. Europe offered refined wheat bread and cheese. Grandmas and Grandpas offer potato chips and fishy crackers. Sigh. I can’t wait to be on our own again…

    Like

Leave a Reply

