Farewell, Beloved Stinky

A few weeks ago, I decided it was time to retire Mackenzie’s favorite blanket.

She has slept with this blanket shoved in her mouth since she was a baby, and I was worried it was contributing to what looks to me like a significant overbite. I knew if I let her sleep with it “just to hold” it would end up in her mouth anyway, because it’s a reflex with her.

Note: She doesn’t just stick a corner in her mouth, she shovels several handfuls in there. Hence the blanket’s name. We had several Stinkies in rotation and they were reserved only for sleep-times, sick times, and major travel times. Oh how wonderful it was to pull Stinky out for international flights, for hotels, for naptimes in unfamiliar places… if Stinky was there to be sucked on, all was right with the world.

But Mackenzie was going on 3 and a half, and as I mentioned, the teeth thing did concern me.

So I let her know it was her final day with Stinky, and then the following morning I took all the blankets away and hid them. And I held my breath and said a little prayer.

And you know what? Against all odds, she was totally fine with it. A few days later, she asked for him to give to a stuffed animal, but when I reminded her that Stinky was gone, she shrugged and said Ok.

WHAT?! No drama? No tears?

I’m about as surprised as I’ve ever been as a parent, but hey, I’ll take it!

And now, a photographic ode to the smelly blankets currently hiding behind my couch. (Note to self: must cut a square from the less-gross middle for her treasure box, and dispose of the rest when she’s not looking.)

Stinky had his beginnings as a swaddle:

But soon she started busting out of that and managing to get corners of the blanket in her mouth.

Road trips? No problem.

Ferry in Belize near naptime? Don’t forget Stinky.

Long drive to Guatemala? Stinky to the rescue.

Bug bites? Rub Stinky on them and they feel much better.

Crocodile hunting? Whip out stinky and she’ll conk out in the bottom of the canoe.

Does Teddy need tuckling in? Who better to do the job…

And now… Stinky is out of our lives. My girl is growing up and my washing machine lost one of its regular customers.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Farewell, Beloved Stinky

  1. lisa h. says:

    wow! love how you have all those pics. and i’m pretty impressed she can get so much in her mouth. glad there was no drama.

    Like

  2. Karen says:

    It is amazing that you went to all those places. And it is even more amazing that you took your baby with you to all those places. And even more amazing that there was no drama or tears. What a good girl you have and what an amazing mom you are!
    Btw, I gathered all the stuff for your dough conditioner last week and made the whole wheat dinner rolls yesterday. They were a big hit! Now I’m making some bread. Thanks!
    Karen

    Like

  3. Liz says:

    ROFLOL. This post is *hilarious.* Are stinky and bun-bun related?

    Like

  4. Angie Kelly says:

    Oh wow! I can’t believe she fit that much into her mouth! We are about to get rid of Kathryn’s binky and I am nervous. This gives me hope.

    Like

Leave a Reply

