Putting my pride on the shelf

I hired a mother’s helper this morning. She’s a lovely, college-bound young lady who’s biding her time before the semester starts.

I had a really hard time asking for help because taking care of my home and family is what I do. If I can’t handle it, then I need to work harder, longer, better until I can handle it, right?

Well I gave it a try and it was glorious. In the precious three hours she was here she:

  • Picked up the bread machine and put it on the table. It took her 10 seconds as I looked on enviously. Silly, but without that, I could not plug it in and thus couldn’t make bread for my family today.
  • Ferried things up and down stairs that had been patiently waiting on landings because they were to cumbersome for me to hold.
  • Washed and chopped leeks, celery, swiss chard, and jalapeno pepper for dinner.
  • Moved two pots in the backyard.
  • Got down new boxes of diapers and wipes, and opened them up for me so I could restock our perilously low supplies.
  • Carried my whole load of towels and rags up and folded them. I’m improving, but each towel is still an undertaking for me and the result after a few tries is often sloppy enough that my linen closet is out of control.
  • Repaired a stack of children’s books that I had been “meaning to get to” and which were indefinitely delayed since I broke my wrist.
  • Changed Caitlyn’s outfit and diaper, and helped me load the girls in the car.
  • Waited in the car with the girls and ac while I ran a quick errand solo.
  • Effortlessly fetched my double jog stroller from the repair shop, maneuvering it through a narrow door and loading it in the back of my car. I had been trying to figure out how to do this one handed for a week and watching her do it was like watching a ballet. Look how easy she makes it look! I was in awe.

She’s willing to come back tomorrow but I’m still in shock from what was accomplished this morning.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Putting my pride on the shelf

  1. Andrea says:

    You’re amazing!! Really Anne! I can’t imagine how tough this has been for you! I hope things are healing up nicely and that it’s getting easier and easier. I ask for help all the time, without a broken arm as an excuse. At first it was hard, but then I realized it was essential. And people don’t seem to mind. I’m looking forward to the day when we can give more than receive, however. But I guess it’s nice to be on the other side once in a while.

    Like

  2. camillecraw says:

    So sorry that you were wounded….Happy healing! Way to ask for help! 🙂 Sometimes you just need to!

    Like

Leave a Reply

