Moment(s) of the Week – August 13th 2011

This week, Mackenzie stole the show

Over Breakfast

Mackenzie and I are crunching on breakfast “cereal from a box”, which we enjoy on Saturdays per tradition.

She seems to be chewing quite deliberately but I think nothing of it until she finishes a bite and informs me, “My teeth are singing, Mama. They just sang ‘My Life is a Gift’ and now they’re going to sing ‘I Feel My Savior’s Love.'”

Sure enough, she’s chewing to the rhythm of her favorite songs. Rock on, Girlie.

At Play

Mackenzie had randomly pulled a very long book about Star Wars off the shelf in California and asked Grandpa (who is not one to say “no” to a granddaughter”) to read it. So they snuggled up and learned about the force and starships for nearly a half hour. They covered the essentials and then some, with Grandpa speaking what could be a foreign language and Mackenzie nodding soberly as she absorbed the epic battle between good and evil.

Fast forward a week and she is wrapped up in a blanket jumping off her bed declaring, “I’m Darth Vader!”

“Oh, hello Darth Vader. How are you?” I gamely ask.

She doesn’t hesitate. “I’m BAD!”

Girlie got her facts straight.

Breakfast Scores Again

I was memorizing a scripture about tithing over breakfast:
“Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse… and prove me herewith saith the Lord of Hosts if I will not open you the windows of heaven and pour you out a blessing that there shall not be room enough to receive it.”

Mackenzie usually memorizes along with me and grills me on what each verse means. After a brief explanation on my part, she clearly had the highlights down:

Her eyes shown as she exclaimed, “Oh! When I’m a Mama and I’m all grown up and I pay my tithing, Heavenly Father is going to bless me. And I think he will bless me with a SNAKE!”

Who am I to argue with a girl’s dreams? I figure she’ll be all grown up so the snake can live at her house.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moment(s) of the Week – August 13th 2011

  1. camillecraw says:

    That is really funny! What a cutie!….sorry about the pasta…Mama said there’d be days like this…

    Like

Leave a Reply

