Moment of the week – August 28th 2011

At the Farmer’s Market

Scott has been working a lot lately, and spending a lot of time training for his marathon coming up in October. So, I was flying solo again on Saturday morning when it was time for the farmer’s market trip. But we eat a LOT of fruit and veggies and the weekly haul is a lovely necessity this time of year.

Gearing up

I loaded Caitlyn up in my front carrier, grabbed Mackenzie’s hand and my empty bags, and I put hats on all of our heads because it was already 90 degrees at 8:45 am.

It was such a busy morning at the market that we had to park many blocks away, even though we arrived before it opened.

Our mission was clear: Stand in line for peaches from our favorite orchard immediately, then go straight to our melon man to score the biggest yellow watermelon on the truck. Then hunt for tomatillos and okra, and round it off with tomatoes, peppers, leafy greens, etc. after casing the market.

The exchange

We made our way to the very back of the peach line, me squeezing Mackenzie’s hand tightly in the parking lot and patting Caitlyn’s hat to make her giggle.

The man immediately in front of us saw us coming, and said with a friendly smile, “You should go straight to the front of the line and try for the sympathy vote.”

Yes, it was hot and I had my hands full. And hey, my husband was working another weekend.

But my honest first thought was, “You’ve got to be kidding. I don’t see anyone in this line as lucky as me!”

I feel so strongly that being a parent is a joy and a blessing. Yes, some days (and weeks) are harder than others, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

The peach line was long and full of lots of different people less encumbered than I, but nobody happier.

The Haul

I ended up making three long, laden, and sweaty trips to the car that day, girls in tow.

A peck of peaches, an enormous orange(!) watermelon, half a dozen ears of corn, three green peppers, zucchinis, several pineapple heirloom tomatoes, fennel, and some okra all got stashed in the car and then laid out on our counter at home in all their colorful glory.

As a side note, have you ever tried to carry a beachball sized watermelon in one arm with a baby strapped to your chest? I have. 🙂

On that trip, a man commented “I hope your husband thanks you for that melon!” (He did.)

On my last trip, several people chuckled and said “that’s three so far!”

Viva la market.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in By Scott, Healthy Eating, Healthy Kids, I am a mother, Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moment of the week – August 28th 2011

  1. limi07Laura says:

    You are officially my hero 😉

    Like

  2. Lonica says:

    I’ve been enjoying your “Moment of the Week’s.” This one is particularly good. I SO miss the farmer’s markets of Ohio. Nothing to compare around here. Part of the problem is that everything comes to fruition at such random times (I was canning applesauce in June) and it just feels weird. We tried a “Farmer’s Market” in the next suburb over and were sorely disappointed. The market here in our town happens on Friday mornings and sounds really unappealing when its 115 degrees outside. Hopefully we can get a good garden going soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

