Moment of the Week – September 4th 2011

Surveying the scene on our front lawn

Sunday night, we had some great new friends over for games. They put their two children to bed at our house and the games and lively discussion carried on past midnight so they decided to stay the night.

They actually brought their pajamas “just in case”, which cracked Scott and I up, but hey… it turned out to be a good call.

The next morning was Labor Day and miraculously neither husband was working (they are both residents) so we toasted up some leftover waffles and went out front to let the kids run around in their pajamas.

Instant party

Our neighborhood was pretty empty just a few months ago, with most of the people we knew finishing school and moving away. But miraculously, great new families started moving in one at a time and filling the gaps.

On this morning, our three closest neighbors’ windows were all opened to let in the beautiful breeze and apparently the sound of kids chasing each other in front was intoxicating. More children emerged to join the merriment within minutes.

Over the course of the next hour, several more families spied the fun as they returned from jogs or headed out to walk around the block. They stayed, chatted, and the party grew.

Soon there were bikes, trikes, scooters, and stuffed animals adding to the excitement.

At one point, I just looked around with my jaw hanging open. I’m a homebody by nature and not very good at seeking out new friends. I had 15+ happy children (plus their parents) on my front lawn and I was still in my pajamas.

If that’s not an auspicious beginning to a week, I don’t know what is.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moment of the Week – September 4th 2011

  1. Angie says:

    Okay, I know you didn’t mean to, but that post made me cry, For lots of reasons. First, I no longer live in Westborough and it is a magical place. Or the people are magical and the circumstances and I could go on. I miss it. I was told I would and it is true. Second, my kids are getting older and I don’t find myself in the ‘come out and play’ mode as much. They’re off to school and Kathryn and I aren’t quite as fun as a house full. Third, I am so happy for you! Enjoy and we miss you guys. Life goes by so fast. How does that happen???

    Like

  2. Kelsey says:

    It was a fun little party…..it is so great to have all these families here!

    Like

  3. Lauren Stacey says:

    Yeah, your strip is seriously the life of the party now. I think there will be lots more parties in the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

