Moment of the Week – September 12th, 2011

The email that made me cry happy tears

As Caitlyn’s first birthday was fast approaching, I was starting to mourn the loss of her baby-ness. It’s been an amazing year for our family, one of a lot of growth and growing pains.

I opened my inbox and found an email from my sister-in-law, who is a professional photographer and mother of three daughters herself.

When we were in California after I hurt my wrist, she spent an evening at the park photographing me and my girls. It had been a really rough day. I hadn’t showered. Caitlyn had hives because I messed up and gave her homemade pesto sauce with nuts in it, and Mackenzie had cried instead of napped all afternoon.

I took my brace off for the pictures and tried to put on a happy face but I was stressed and not handling it very well.

Meghan was a miracle worker! She coaxed smiles out of my girls and got me interacting with them so that I forgot about the camera. When she sent me the images, I was blown away.

The key to happiness for me lately has been relishing the sweet moments.

Thanks to Meg, I have the “sweet” of this year saved forever.

The Video

As thrilled as I was with the photos, it was the video she made from the shoot that made my week.

It captures how much I adore my daughters and I try to show them that, especially on tough days. I am far from a perfect mother but I love those girls to the moon and back.

Click here to watch it <– The music she chose is perfection.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in I am a mother, Life as we know it, Tough Days. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moment of the Week – September 12th, 2011

  1. My pleasure:). I know how you feel and there are so many days I wonder if I am a good Mom at all. You are a stupendous mom Anne- and I have the video to prove it!

    Like

  2. Jessica says:

    Somehow, some way, we’ll need to see you guys “soon-ish.” It’s sad not to see friends for years! The pictures are beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

