Preparing for Homeschooling (1-3)

We are still two years out from starting formal curriculum with Mackenzie (she’s 3 1/2 now), but I’ve been reading all I can get my hands on about homeschooling and I’ve slowly been making some changes to the way I run our home.

Scott and I both went to public school and neither of us has really seen a homeschool home in action. As it turns out, homeschoolers are an eclectic bunch. There are many (many!) reasons to homeschool and even more ways of going about it.

Here are the first of 10 small things I’m working on to gear up:

1. Quiet time

Mackenzie no longer naps, but every afternoon she takes a mandatory hour (or two) quiet time in her bed. Books are allowed but her head must be on her pillow, so there’s no chaos created behind her closed door.

This coincides with Caitlyn’s nap nicely (or not so nicely, depending on how distracting Mackenzie’s reading aloud and singing aloud prove to be.) 🙂

2. Memorization

I started this for me, but Mackenzie begs to join in and it’s something I plan to make a daily part of our homeschool. I have an index card file box like this and I’m currently working through 100 scripture mastery scriptures, our 13 Articles of Faith, and few-word summary of each section of the Doctrine and Covenants.

I’m halfway through those and I hope to mix in some poetry, useful quotations, etc.

The great thing about this memorization system is that I can easily fall back to “survival” mode and just review ones I’ve learned already when needed rather than tackle new ones all the time.

3. Reading aloud to my girls

This used to happen just at mealtimes when I had a captive audience, but now Mackenzie is engrossed sitting next to me looking over my shoulder, while Caitlyn plays with board books in her crib nearby. We shoot for 30 minutes a day but that doesn’t always happen!

So far, we’ve read the following:
Winnie the Pooh, The House at Pooh Corner, When We Were Very Young, A Child’s Garden of Verses (by Robert Louis Stevenson), Charlotte’s Web, the Boxcar Children, Because of Winn Dixie, Stuart Little, Little House on the Prairie, The Jungle Book (unabridged, by Rudyard Kipling. This was over even my head in parts but we persevered).

We’re nearly done with Pollyanna.

Next up:
The rest of the Little House Series, Just David, The Just So Stories, The Trumpet of the Swan

… any other suggestions?

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Preparing for Homeschooling (1-3)

  1. camillecraw says:

    You are truly a remarkable person Anne! It really is amazing what scheduling a goals can do for a person! I like that you are reading big kid books to Mackenzie. I need to be better at that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

