That’ll work too

I woke up this morning with no voice.  

Uttering the faintest croak was painful enough, I swore a vow of silence. 

Have you ever mothered for an extended period of time without saying a word?  Aside from once or twice when a distinct “NO!!!!” or “STOP!!!” came out of me from some deep parental reserve to avert a near disaster, I communicated solely with gestures and with the written word for the entire morning.  

Keep in mind, only one of my two children can read.

My plan was to jealously protect my voice reserves for as long as possible, so that I had a shot at recovery by the afternoon. 

But, 8:13am found me laughing uncontrollably… you can imagine how terrible that sounded (and felt!)  I was helpless to resist, though.  There I was, folding clean laundry and supervising Caitlyn finishing her breakfast.  Mackenzie was racing around me with a pair of (clean) underwear on her head.

(That is allowed at our house… what, it’s not at yours?)

Now this wasn’t that unusual, nor that funny.  Typically, I would have given a token chuckle at her silliness but today I just smiled silently.  

What killed me is when she took off the underwear and tossed it on the ground.  I snapped my fingers to get her attention, and then pointed to the pile of her clean underwear I was making as I worked through the laundry.  

She whispered, “What?” and I pointed more insistently at the pair she had cast aside and then at the pile where it belonged.

“Oh, I know what you mean!” She whispered and nodded her head.  Then she gathered up all the pairs of underwear and headed for the stairs.  

Right about here I was patting myself on the back for working with her on chores lately.  She was going to put away her clothes in her room upstairs, right?

Wrong.

My girl came racing back from the “staging area” (stairs), proudly sporting every single pair of underwear on her head.

My voice was doomed! I spent it laughing on many similar mixups today, as well as on a few carefully uttered and ironic “Use your words” to Caitlyn when she insisted on communicating using her signature and singularly unhelpful”moose” noises.  Mostly I threw my hands in the air to her, though.  One-sided communication is hard enough with a 15 month old.  Zero sided communication is just futile.

 

 

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Funny kids, I am a mother, Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That’ll work too

  1. Melanie Bean says:

    Oh Anne, that sounds hilarious!!! And I love that Mackenzie whispered to you, like it’s a quiet time since you’re voice is absent. lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

