Not your Daddy’s singing voice

Nearly every sleep time since Mackenzie was born 4 years ago, whoever is putting the kiddos to sleep sings them a song. We often sing one for each child, and we definitely take requests.

Occasionally, I’ll bring my iPhone into the girls’ room and sit on their bed and just sing and sing and sing through hymns and children’s songs from our church.

It’s a sweet time of the day for me and it’s even more rewarding now that Mackenzie will sing along with me. Still, though, I am not particularly musical so I love it when Scott is around to keep me on key.

Moment of the Week – November 12th, 2011

On this day, I laid Caitlyn down for her nap gently, and began to sing her a song. She signed (and declared verbally) “all done!” “all done!”

I assumed she was upset that it was naptime, so I continued to sing soothingly and smooth her blanket.

Yet she persisted: “All done!!”

I paused my singing to assess the situation, and she promptly rolled on her side and closed her eyes.

Apparently my singing was interfering with her sleep agenda.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Being LDS, Funny kids, Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not your Daddy’s singing voice

  1. Mom Bean says:

    So cute, Anne! You keep singing to those sweet little girls!

    Like

Leave a Reply

