And that was that

Moment of the week – November 23rd, 2011

After weeks of worrying about when and how to wean Caitlyn, I was down to just a feeding or two a day but couldn’t bring myself to pull the trigger.

First thing every morning, she was always desperate for milk and it was a nice way to start the day to rock in the chair while I nursed and talk to Mackenzie about her dreams. I was already getting wistful about which feeding would be my last, and I was wary of her begging for something I was no longer willing to give her.

But on this particular morning? Caitlyn asked for “boo?” (book) instead of milk as I walked in the room and I made a split second decision to just go with it. We flipped through board books together and went down to eat oatmeal for breakfast.

And that was that.

No more milk for my girl, and she didn’t seem sad about it. And I surprised myself by being 100% fine with it too. Not knowing when the last time I nursed her would be actually worked out for the best because it spared me the agony of over-thinking, an agony I’m all too familiar with.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And that was that

  1. Kimberlie says:

    Anne-
    Your blog followers miss you! I know your busy but I hope everything is okay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

