As it turns out, I don’t blog when I’m sick

It’s been pretty quiet on the blog front and it’s probably time I explained the reason.

59 days ago I got sick and I haven’t gotten any better.

My symptoms?

  • Fatigue – A month ago, Mackenzie woke me up after I fell asleep reading aloud to the girls. “Caitlyn’s on the kitchen table!” … and she was. That was not the last time that same scenario played out.
  • Loss of mental faculty – Last week I went to pour dried split peas into a big sieve… while holding the sieve upside down. Split peas rained down on the entire kitchen.
  • Loss of motor control – I carried a bowl of salad to my neighbor’s house, and just walking down the street I managed to fling the bowl of salad into the air, fertilizing the lawn and sidewalk with mixed greens and croutons. Thanks for using a plastic bowl, Friend!
  • Nausea – I don’t even want to talk about it except to say, I’d prefer not to have it.
  • Excitement – Sometimes (when the nausea subsides) (and this is usually brief) I get so happy thinking about *why* I’m sick that I scoop Caitlyn up and dance around the room with Mackenzie.

Yep, you guessed it. I have a gummy bear in the oven:

Because we’ve had a missed miscarriage at 9 weeks before, the ultrasound at 9 weeks was scary for us. I had already been sick 4 weeks and kept imagining that either it was all for naught and we had already lost the baby, or that there were lots* of babies in there causing all the nausea.

We were so relieved and grateful to see just the one little kidney bean, paddling around with a strong heartbeat.

Things I’m looking forward to, from my current vantage point lying flat out on the sofa (or the floor… sometimes mothers can’t be picky):

  • October 9th – I’m actually due on September 25th but I’m already trying to psyche myself up NOT to get induced if I can help it. Two weeks past my due date I hope to have a baby and to be free of any “should-I-just-accept-the-pitocin-and-get-it-over-with-early” anxiety.
  • Being surprised about gender – Scott is NOT coming to the next ultrasound and we will be delighted to welcome either Bean Girl #3 or Bean Boy #1 to the party when the time comes.
  • 1 Month from now. I’ll be 18 weeks pregnant at that point and I’m banking on feeling a lot better by then.
  • Soaking up these next months with my two girls. The time I spent with Mackenzie before Caitlyn arrived was so precious to me. I made a special effort to build her up and strengthen our bond and it paid off big-time.
  • Going to Disneyworld in August, 8 months pregnant. Oh, hmmm… I’m actually going to try not to think about that one just yet.

*I have two sets of twins among my nieces and nephews and love them to bits. But twins are TOUGH!

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to As it turns out, I don’t blog when I’m sick

  1. Laura says:

    I’ve been thinking of you and was anticipating this news!! Congratulations!!! I wish you were feeling better and I’m so glad that things are going well overall πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Andrea says:

    We are just so, so happy for you guys! Being pregnant is such a magical (and nauseating) time. Hope the yucks end soon! Can’t wait to hear about the gender. And, by the way, Alice is loving the little outfits you gave her. Adorable!! Loves from Utah!

    Like

  3. Angie Kelly says:

    Congratulations! I hope you are feeling better soon. This reminded me of a blog post I wrote a while back when I was pregnant with Kathryn. I sat down to read a book to the kids and woke up 2 hours later!

    Like

  4. Emily says:

    Congrats! That little gummy bear looks cute already!

    Like

  5. wendeerosella says:

    Congrats to the whole Bean Family! πŸ™‚ So excited for you!! I loved being surprised with our first two pregnancies, it’s SO much fun. πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. Miriam says:

    I don’t know you. I happened upon your blog when I was looking for a new whole wheat bread recipe. My family lived in Columbus, too. We were there for 6 years while my husband got his PhD at OSU. We loved it there:) We are also Mormon, and I was excited to see that you eat a plant based diet. My family recently made that change, too. We love it! It feels so good. Anyway, I would like to make muesli. Do you flake your own grains? I want to buy a flaker but the cheap ones don’t seem to have good reviews. I don’t want to spend a fortune on it. Do you use one that you would recommend?
    By the way, your bread recipe has been working great!

    Like

    • beanland says:

      Hey Miriam,

      What a small world! To answer your question, I don’t flake my own grains. In fact, the thought never occurred to me though now I’m curious about it. πŸ™‚

      I buy the 6 rolled grain blend from honeyville grain store online: http://store.honeyvillegrain.com/6grainrolledcereal50lb.aspx .

      I wait until they have their 15% off sale, and then place a combined order with my friends to split the (already cheap) shipping. I also buy my steel cut oats there, and sometimes brown rice as well.

      Like

      • Miriam says:

        Thank you for letting me know! I will look into it.

        Like

      • Miriam says:

        Also, how often does it go on sale?

        Like

      • beanland says:

        Miriam – Hmm seems like 10% off every other month or so, and 15% off a few times a year? The good thing about grains is I don’t buy them too often. I just buy lots at a time! πŸ™‚ Sign up for their email list and you’ll know when their sales are.

        Like

  7. Kimberlie says:

    Thank you for sharing your good news! I didn’t want to be a “creeper” as my 18 year old daughter would say, but after a couple of months I was starting to worry something was wrong! Glad you only have the “9 month flu” and that your symptoms will subside! Thank you for sharing your family’s journey with us; you may never know how many you have inspired to lead healthier lives.

    Like

  8. Katie says:

    Congratulations!

    Like

  9. denise says:

    Congrats Anne!

    Like

  10. megmagic says:

    Congrats! I’m sure you’ll start feeling better any day now….at least there is a light at the end of the tunnel!

    Like

  11. Julie says:

    Congratulations, Anne!!! That is seriously exciting news!

    Like

Leave a Reply

