Happy Birthday, Scott Bean!

Scott is truly my better half.

His birthday had an auspicious beginning: I woke him up with delicious carrot muffins and the girls sang to him enthusiastically.

But I had a rough day, pregnancy-wise, and my efforts to make a special dinner and have a clean house when he came home from work were ineffective. In fact, it was one of those days where the house looked worse AFTER I tried to clean up than it did beforehand. How is that even possible?

When he walked in, I sent him straight upstairs to nap while I wrapped up some presents. He ended up making his own birthday dinner, which we all enjoyed, and he felt very loved. Thank goodness for faraway family and friends who sent thoughtful gifts and calls his way!

I made him a slideshow/video*, and I think we both cried a little while watching it as a family. As it turns out, being pregnant brings my emotions closer to the surface, making me about even with Scott. 🙂

That night we played games with our neighbors after our girls were asleep, and these friends were good enough to hold down the fort so we could catch a late night dollar movie.

Scott always makes me feel like a million bucks, and by the time we got home my nausea was a distant memory and we were just holding hands and laughing together.

Happy Birthday, Scott Bean!

*The beautiful piano music in the background may not seem to fit the pictures, unless you know Scott. He plays our piano constantly, filling our home with gorgeous music and adding a soundtrack to so many of my memories.

Example: He received a book of Jazz piano music for his birthday and I discovered tonight that Caitlyn can’t help but dance when he plays from it. She will be just walking across the living room, but with a big grin on her face she’ll start to sway and twirl almost involuntarily as he plays.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday, Scott Bean!

  1. Gina F. says:

    What a wonderful video. I think it’s safe to surmise that you’re both, very lucky people. Happy Birthday Scott.

    Like

  2. Yep, I kinda turned on the tears a little bit when I saw daddy holding baby. That was a really precious video. Well done Annie. And HAPPY BIRTHDAY SCOTT!!! What a great family :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

