A More Helpful Blog – Questions?

I originally started Beanland in 2006 as a way to document our family’s day-to-day life, but since that time we’ve started several ongoing adventures that I’ve shared in smatterings on this blog along the way.

I’ve been surprised and happy to attract a variety of readers, but thus far I haven’t felt that I’ve served any of my audiences very well.

Those who come for healthy recipes and inspiration have sometimes gone for months without anything pertinent. And aside from the few mentions I’ve given the topic over the years, those hoping to follow our homeschooling journey have had to just email their questions in.

I’ve learned so much myself from reading other blogs that it never really sat right to me that I didn’t give much back with my own blog.

I made two changes recently in hopes of improving the relevance of this blog:

  1. Posting change – I’ve danced around the healthy eating and homeschooling posts in the past because I didn’t want to turn off the friends and family just visiting for cute kid pictures. But I’ve decided to share ALL our adventures as they come, which I hope will include detailed posts like recipes and curriculum reviews that I had been hesitant to post in the past. Those looking for cute kids may have to scroll a little more. ๐Ÿ™‚
  2. Organizing change – I’ve categorized all my old posts and you can now use the “Topics” dropdown menu in the sidebar to drill right to what you’re looking for. I need to do some refining still, because I want to call out some other topics I’ve wandered into like Deliberate Mothering and Parenting & Household Hacks.

Any burning questions you have or things you’d like to see more of?

I haven’t been the best at staying on top of comments so I’m sure there are things that have been asked that I have overlooked.

However, if you leave a comment on THIS post, it’s very likely to get a proper answer in a future blog post.

Don’t be shy. I try to live my life as a (fairly) open book and anonymous questions are fine, too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A More Helpful Blog – Questions?

  1. Brian says:

    How do you end up with neighbors as cool as yours? Seriously, I’m dying to know how you pulled that one off.

    Like

  2. Lisa Hymas says:

    I think you are doing great. sounds like homeschooling is off to a good start. I will have to look into that spelling book for the summer. we’re going to do 1 hr of “school” 4 days a week during summer. (the kids are NOT excited) ha!

    Like

  3. oh good! i’m interested in your homeschooling posts in particular! we are preparing to start the reading book with miles that you’ve used. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Kimberlie says:

    Don’t be so hard on yourself! I found your blog looking for a recipe for bread and have followed ever since. In fact, I made 2 loaves of the bread today. I have learned a lot from many of your posts and enjoyed your family adventures. Yours is the only blog that I read consistently so you must be doing something right ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the thoughtful changes and all of the helpful info you have shared with all of your blog followers – no matter which subject they find most interesting!

    Like

  5. Lorina says:

    All of your posts seem to inspire me somehow. It also makes me feel normal when I’m back posting several months when I read your posts of past events. I love the recipes. We are far from Vegan but we are trying to change little things here and there to improve our health. The homeschooling information is very enlightening and this is an area that I have a lot of personal interest in, but I need to get over myself to trully embrace it. Another topic I would be interested to hear about from you is photography. All of your pictures are so clear. I’m sure you have a way nicer camera than me but do you ever edit your pictures? Pictures seem to make the blog for me and mine look so homemade and unprofessional. I’m just wondering what I could do with my cheap digital camera to improve the look of my blogs. No hurry on answering, I know you are in Homeschool mode. Keep up the good work and Thank you!

    Like

  6. Lonica says:

    I’ve been thinking a lot about your homeschooling posts lately. While I don’t plan on homeschooling my girls (except for perhaps a year or two if we are off on international adventures), I’ve appreciate the food for thought. I just enjoy the more regular posting we’ve been getting as of late! I’ve asked a couple questions about reading with Mackenzie, but those were in past posts and I don’t really remember exactly what they are at this point…

    Like

Leave a Reply

