Four year olds come in handy

We are within three months of meeting Bean Baby #3 at this point and Scott is still frequently absent due to residency.

I should be afraid. The prospect of taking care of three little people around the clock is certainly daunting.

But I decided tonight that although Caitlyn (1 1/2) will definitely double the trouble of having a newborn, having Mackenzie (4 1/2) around might just make things more manageable.

I think she has officially passed the threshold of giving more help than she requires.

Case in point:

*WARNING* *BODILY FLUIDS AHEAD*

Tonight I took the girls on a special trip to the used bookstore to cash in on Mackenzie’s summer reading program progress and to pick out a book with her $5 gift certificate. Caitlyn was unhappy sitting in the stroller and insisted (loudly) on being held.

I knelt down next to her to encourage her in hushed tones to look at the books on the nearby kids’ table… just as she started coughing and throwing up out of nowhere.

I’ve been a mom for four and a half years now, so naturally I reflexively caught it all in my hand to avoid messing up the carpeted bookstore.

Unfortunately, it kept coming… and coming… until it filled up the front of her dress, my entire lap and overflowed onto the floor.

Desperate times, people! Luckily for me, I had my capable sidekick. Mackenzie calmly followed all my instructions and was key in getting us out the door.

  • She grabbed my purse, dug around for wipes, emptied the wipe bag and gave me the empty bag to fill up with shovels of yuck. She put the stack of wipes at a reachable (but safe) distance from the mess.
  • After I stripped Caitlyn to her diaper, mopped her up, and unceremoniously plopped her in the stroller, Mackenzie buckled her in and reassured her that everything was going to be fine.
  • Armed with a wet wipe, she even caught a few places on Caitlyn that I had missed.
  • Damage control on my own clothes was the toughest and I literally had to hold wet wipes over the worst parts of them and shuffle outside to finish the clean-up. Seeing I didn’t have any free hands, Mackenzie quickly re-packed my purse and carefully wheeled the stroller to the front of the store and onto the sidewalk.
  • She kept up a stream of updates on the way home about Caitlyn’s appearance and whether she thought she was going to throw up again. Ok, these weren’t so much helpful. 😉

When we got home, I managed to get Caitlyn out of the car before she yacked again but she was looking dodgy and there was no way I wanted to bring her in the house like that. I would have been trapped outside in drenched clothes with a mostly-naked sickie if Mackenzie hadn’t run in and fetched Scott.

And… approximately 4 minutes after Scott came out and took over so I could get cleaned up… Scott would have been trapped outside in drenched clothes (sorry, Babe!) with a mostly-naked sick-again sickie if Mackenzie hadn’t hurried in and given me the update.

I had cleaned up by that point and relieved Scott outside so he could come in and clean up.

Mackenzie spent the next hour running in and out of the house for wipes, water, towels, and Caitlyn’s favorite books.

I seriously don’t know what I would have done without her. I do know that the bookstore and I would have been much worse for the wear. 😉

So, will we have hairy moments with three little kiddos in our family and a busy husband come ~October? Undoubtedly.

But unlike when Caitlyn was new and Mackenzie was just 2 and Scott was busy… this time I have a four year old on my side. Bring it on!

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Tough Days. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Four year olds come in handy

  1. Lori says:

    What a gal that little Mackenzie is. Woot for her!

    Like

Leave a Reply

