It’s here!

No, not the baby. 🙂

(Technically I am full-term but the funny thing about pregnancy is there’s a five week window in which the baby could arrive. So I’m trying to think about the baby’s arrival as “any day” but also keeping in mind it could be a month from now!)

The arrival this post’s title refers to is probably even more welcome at this point, if I’m being honest.

Despite a to-do list a mile long of unfinished projects and plans, I have spent the last few weeks treading water. I’ve been feeling worn out just taking care of my two kiddos outside the womb. This was a little scary in the face of welcoming a third, very needy, child to the mix!

Then Friday happened. I woke up early to prepare for a morning of teaching Joy School, taught six 2-4 year olds until noon, fixed and cleaned up lunch… and instead of being utterly toast and crashing in the afternoon, I plowed through all the piled up paperwork on my desk, then dejunked, reorganized, and scrubbed the whole basement. It hit me as I was digging into one long-neglected box and carefully categorizing its contents…

My nesting instinct and energy have arrived! Woop!

I spent Saturday hitting up the first “fall” farmer’s market with my girls, baking whole wheat buns, making a double batch of black bean burgers, a triple batch of lentil salad, a batch of raw cinnamon peach granola, whole wheat sourdough waffle batter for our traditional Sunday breakfast, a loaf of whole wheat bread and a loaf of cinnamon raisin whole wheat bread.

I’m not going to lie. When I added a stomach-sick 4 year old to the mix, and factored in cleaning up after all the cooking, by the end of the night I was pondering whether I had bitten off more than I could chew. Thank goodness Scott came home from work and pitched in with the dishes.

The game plan at this point is to make use of the energy while it lasts and stay busy so I don’t resort to counting down the days. I’m getting creakier (and crankier, unfortunately) and having contractions throughout the day and night but I’m sure this baby is at least two weeks away still.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s here!

  1. Katie says:

    Whoa! Way to be super productive!

    Like

  2. Jessica says:

    Can’t wait to hear news about baby! You’re great. 🙂

    Like

  3. Anita says:

    Good luck! We’re excited for you. And thanks for your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

