Ode to Grandma Bean

My mother-in-law is an amazing woman.

She arrived 5 days after Daniel’s birth to find her little granddaughters sick and quarantined, her daughter-in-law recovering from delivery, and 120 pounds of apples that needed to be processed.

She rolled up her sleeves and helped us can 3 dozen quarts of skins-on applesauce and a half dozen pints of apple butter (a healthy, easy version I came up with… post coming). She showered my daughters with love and special surprises brought from Utah. She was so helpful I actually felt up to a trip to the zoo and a trip to Hocking Hills to hike and see the beautiful fall colors.

The Zoo:



Hocking Hills:


(poor photo quality) proof that I was there as well, toting 10 day old Daniel around in a bjorn. A sweet Mennonite woman with a toddler stopped me to ask how old Daniel was and then seemed at a loss for words at my response. She finally exclaimed, “Oh my! I hope you feel wonderful!”

Truthfully, I did. I enjoyed the hikes breathing in the damp smell of fall in the hills. We picnicked for lunch and made s’mores after the sun set.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ode to Grandma Bean

  1. N Bean says:

    Anne – What a beautiful post. Thank you so very much! You made me cry “happy” tears! I was so glad to be able to come back and share a week with all of you! I love you all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

