Math in our House – Pattern Blocks, Logic Puzzles, Base 10 Blocks

I blogged previously about using a math curriculum: Singapore Math and Kumon. Here are a few of the other math-related resources we have at our house. They are things my kids often play with on their own. School and play overlap a lot at our house!

Pattern Blocks

We love these simple, colorful wooden blocks and Mackenzie has spent hours playing with them.

We do have a few books (inherited from my mom, again) and a stack of cardstock activity sheets that have puzzles and problems to solve using the blocks and I know Mackenzie loves it when I throw in some of these activities to change up our school days.

They start simple enough that my 2 year old likes to “match” blocks to the picture.

They get more advanced…



Logic Puzzles

I loved logic puzzles growing up and recently discovered The Critical Thinking Company sells logic puzzle books called “Mind Benders” that go all the way down to the kindergarten level. I bought the first three in the series, removed the pages and slipped them into plastic page protectors in a binder. Now Mackenzie is working her way through the binder with a dry erase marker and when she gets one correct, she writes her initial on the page in pencil and moves on to the next one. It a great introduction to the format and method of solving these kinds of puzzles.

After book three, she should be able to tackle puzzles at the level of most free online printables so we may stick with those. But Mind Benders go through book 8 and considering I still like to do these as an adult, I suspect we’ll be looking to buy the others at some point as well. πŸ™‚

Base 10 blocks
We bought a simple plastic Base 10 Block Set and I inherited an activity book from, you guessed it, my mom who never throws anything away. Yay! There is nothing better for teaching 10s, 100s, and 1000s, in my opinion and I know we’ll come back to these again and again when we talk about carrying, dividing, etc.

We regularly use lots of other math games/tools in our home and I’ll share our favorites in future posts.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Curriculum, Homeschooling, Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Math in our House – Pattern Blocks, Logic Puzzles, Base 10 Blocks

  1. Laura says:

    Anne, we are taking the plunge into homeschooling! Your posts are a great help. Keep ’em coming. You have a straightforward, let’s-not-make-things-complicated approach that I love!

    Like

    • beanland says:

      Wow! How exciting!

      “simplify” is a word I need to repeat to myself a lot, so I’d be happy to see that come across in my posts.

      I hope you love homeschooling. πŸ™‚

      -Anne

      Like

Leave a Reply

