Saying Goodbye

Our apartment is all boxes and moving mess and Mackenzie (5) keeps pointing out “lasts”. We’ve already had our last Sunday at church, our last trip to the nursing home to sing, our last trip to the library, our last trip to the museum, etc.

I can’t adequately express how much our seven years in Columbus have shaped our family. Scott and I came here just out of undergraduate school and we are leaving with three children and a board-certified, licensed, credentialed (yes it’s a long process!) family physician as the head of our home. We’ve met such wonderful people and will treasure the many memories we’ve made.

I’ve been having a hard time thinking about leaving even though we are excited for our summer plans and for Scott’s job in Oregon (which we are still finalizing!). Sometimes when I am packing I just slow down to a stop and it takes me a minute to realize I’m no longer moving my hands. I’ve found even when I’m around friends, I’m not really checked in half the time. I’m quieter. I brood. I’m having a difficult time processing my emotions. I’m trying to just appreciate the time we have left and the good times we’ve had, but everything already feels like it’s leading to this inevitable and final conclusion.

Some good friends came by today to share lunch and visit one last time. We first met them in medical school and we have so enjoyed our friendship with them over the past 6 years.

Our children are enamored with them. Mackenzie and Caitlyn sang songs, whispered secrets in their ears, gave lots of hugs, and I think everyone cried when we said goodbye.

They gave us a card and a gift that so perfectly captured the emotions I’ve been experiencing.

I read the front part of the card:
“Parting’s not a happy time,
but neither is it sad,
for you have dreams of days to come,
and thoughts of joys you’ve had”

The inside wished us long-lasting memories and happy years ahead.

The plaque was inscribed:
“Truly great friends are hard to find… difficult to leave and impossible to forget”

Oh, we will miss the people we’ve met here, including both those that have already moved on and those we are about to leave behind… We have truly been blessed with people in our lives who inspire us and encourage us. They’ve shared our joys and our struggles as we’ve journeyed through medical school, residency and our first years as parents.

Bring on the goodbyes. 😦

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saying Goodbye

  1. denise says:

    so hard to leave!!! Hope things go smoothly as you pack and move cross country! We’ll look forward to seeing you later in the summer!

    Like

  2. Lauren Stacey says:

    We will miss you! (even if we haven’t seen you for a while). I’m sure the whole midwest is crying 🙂 Good luck on your new adventure!

    Like

  3. Lisa Hymas says:

    oh it is so hard. If I sit and think about our time in Ohio I could just start crying. Yet we’ve met so many people in FL I cannot imagine not knowing and having in our lives too. It is hard emotionally, kinda like reading a book and getting to the climax and you read faster and faster and then I always feel like the end and conclusion of books I read slow and seem like I have to read it just to finish what I started even though it’s nothing new being revealed and just needs to tie things up nicely. anyway, you just made me think about that. can’t wait to hear about your new adventures!

    Like

  4. we’ll miss you guys!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Look Closely and You’ll See My Life | Adventures in Beanland

Leave a Reply

