Summer Harvest and Shots from Sunriver

Our garden is nearly non-existent this year. In fact, I planted three cherry tomato plants and called it good. But Salem has wild blackberries everywhere and we have a huge patch in our yard. We also make a point to hit the excellent farmers’ market every week this time of year and we look for opportunities to pick our own fruit.

One of the things I love about the way we eat is the variety and seasonality that naturally follows.

Here are some of the things I ate today:

– local zucchini

– local crookneck squash

– local eggplant

– red bell pepper

– local poblano pepper

– local fresh oregano

– local jalapeno pepper

– local tomatoes

– local corn on the cob (well, off the cob and pan-roasted, actually)

– Scott-picked local peaches

– Scott-picked local plums

– Scott-picked backyard blackberries

I’ve got a local cantaloupe and a watermelon on the counter, a fridge stuffed with local chard, local leeks, and an enormous head of local red leaf lettuce.

Thanks to the farmers’ market (with the exception of the poblano peppers) that local label means I got a better price than at a grocery store and the food is fresher. Yum.

Just 7 years ago I was a vegetable-hating fairly picky eater. Sometimes I have to pause and appreciate how far I’ve come. Change is possible! πŸ™‚

In case anyone is curious, lunch was leftover ratatouille, except ours was not nearly as pretty as those pictures. My three year old and I just threw the veggies into the pan in layers like a lasagna. As usual, we made a boatload because I don’t like to cook every night! Dinner was this yummy pasta salad, but we doubled the herbs and halved the oil.

From Sunriver


Photo by Chris MacAskill
I loved this shot of my daughter and her grandpa, the ultimate healthy eater. My dad does plants. In fact, he might tie with the horse for leafy green consumption. Thank goodness because he has a strong family history of heart disease and his diet is keeping his arteries squeaky clean! We want him around a long time…


…even if he does try to break my stroller while delighting ten kids in one fell swoop. Count ’em!
Photo by Meghan MacAskill



Photos by Chris MacAskill
Unlike my dad, we are happy aiming for 90% whole plant foods with our diet. We definitely indulge in a sprinkled cupcake now and then. πŸ™‚


Photo by Meghan MacAskill

While in Sunriver for a SmugMug retreat, my dad and I hiked to the top of Mt. Bachelor. He usually swoops me off my feet like this for photos but right before this photo was taken, he also tossed me into the air. It totally caught me off guard!

Sometimes when I look around at what normal people are eating, I have to remind myself that my goal is to be abnormal.

My dad is 60 and thanks to a great diet and consistent, vigorous exercise, he’s in fantastic shape and totally smoked me up that mountain. That’s what I’m aiming for.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating, Life as we know it, Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

